Daydream Nation

Standard

Yesterday I watched Daydream Nation, a movie that had been on my watchlist for quite a while. I kind of enjoyed the movie but it was not as good as I was expecting it to be. The characters were interesting and the plot was ok but, all in all, it is the kind of movie I will forget about a few months after watching it. It lacks something, I think the issues were not particularly original nor was the way in which they were delivered. Also I don’t like Kat Dennings, but that might be just an issue I have with the way she speaks (I do love some of the outfits she wears in the movie, though).

On the other hand, there are some moments of the movie, some dialogues which are really great like when Caroline says “I am the main character of my own life” and a few others that I think are quite deep and really make you sit and think. I also like the sarcasm of Caroline’s character and her strength. I love the part when one of her classmates calls her a slut and she goes on to tell her that the only reason she is saying that is because her whole value system is messed up (you probably need to watch it, it is just one of those things) and then she goes and cries in the washroom because, despite knowing that she is right, it still hurts. I really feel like hers is a character I can relate to and that may be why I might be willing to give Daydream Nation a pass.

So, if you want to give it a try you probably should, there are some parts worth watching but don’t expect too much of it.

Let me know what you think!

