2 Broke Girls: Fun!

Standard

I discovered this show two days ago and I just love it. I have already watched like ten episodes, which proves that I have way too much time on my hands, but also that it is really great. I find myself laughing out loud, something that doesn’t usually happen, I’m not one of those annoying loud-laughing people in the movie theaters.

The show is about Max and Caroline. The latter is a rich spoiled girl whose dad just went to jail and therefore has lost all her money. She then has to start working to get money which is how she meets Max, the other waitress at the dinner she starts working for. Max is an extremely funny self-deprecating girl who, unlike Caroline, grew up with all the odds against her. They are, as the title obviously states, two broke girls who decide (or more like Caroline decides) to start a cupcake business fo which they still need to get a ton of money.

I don’t know if this sounds interesting or even fun to you but I can assure you it is. I like the fact that they didn’t make them hate each other in the first few episodes (a pattern seen in many shows) but they just slowly become friends. I like that Caroline never takes Max to seriously and Max doesn’t take anything seriously. All the other characters range from funny to moderately cliched. Han is kind of a cute character, Peach also makes me laugh (I love that she named her twins Brad and Angelina) and I like Chestnut (or the idea that they decided to include a horse in the show). However, I can’t make up my mind about Oleg, sometimes I don’t care much for him and others he’s just plain annoying.

So far my favorite episode is the one where they go back to Caroline’s place to get her retainer and end up carrying all the clothes in the subway. That scene was just hilarious!

Surprisingly, I don’t find Kat Denning’s way of speaking as annoying as I did on Daydream Nation. I don’t know if it is her accent (honestly my English is not good enough to tell) or that after 10 episodes I got used to it. However, somebody should tell that girl to properly open her mouth when she talks. Other than that I think she does a great job on the show. It actually changed my mind about her because I had only watched Daydream Nation and Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist from her and, honestly, I didn’t particularly enjoy any of those movies.

Despite all of this, I am not sure it will be renewed for a second season. Ratings seem to be doing OK but I just have my doubts. Anyway, if you haven’t watched it, go do it (and I leave you a promo just in case you are not convinced), and if you already have watched it, then you know what I’m talking about.

Let me know what you think!

