Postcrossing

Standard

Today I received my first Postcrossing card and I was really excited to find a piece of mail that wasn’t money related.

Postcrossing is a project created to send and receive postcards from all over the world. It is pretty simple, if you send a postcard you will then receive another one. I think in the internet era in which nobody writes letters or postcards anymore this is a great idea. It is so much more special and personal than receiving e-mails or Facebook messages or whatever. Unfortunately my friends don’t seem to share this thought so all I get in my mail are bank statements, advertising and, occasionally, official letters. Postcrossing allows me to share my love of the written word. In addition to that you can get postcards from literally anywhere in the world. I mean, how cool is it to say that you got a postcard from Hungary or China? Sending the postcards was not so easy, though. Apparently, since everything is digitized now nobody buys stamps so when I went to the store and told the man I needed stamps for Russia he looked at me like I was from a different planet. I ended up going to the post office and having to wait a huge line to send two postcards but it was worth it. Now I have this beautiful postcard from Holland and a few more on the way.

2 responses »

Let me know what you think!

