About a boy

Standard

Before we all start thinking of Hugh Grant, let me say than I am going to focus on the novel for this post. I love Nick Hornby because even if his prose is nothing extraordinary he tells really original stories with very peculiar characters that I really enjoy. About a boy is one of my favorites because it is sweet and leaves you with a bit of faith in humanity and the world.

It tells the story of Will, a 36 year-old guy who lives off the royalties of “Santa’s Super Sleigh” (a song written by his father) and basically does nothing with his life but fill time. In his quest for single mothers he gets to know Marcus, the son of one of them. He is 12 and is being bullied in school. At first Will is annoyed by Marcus and tries to  ignore him but soon he will find himself helping him out and trying to make him fit in school. A weird friendship that will change both their lives.

As I said, Hornby’s stories are quite original and certainly entertaining but they have certain values that we all can relate to and characters that you will find yourself loving at the end of the book.

As you probably already know, they made a movie which I think was quite good and faithful to the book. However, if you want my opinion, the book is much better, as always.

Source: E-read

3 responses »

Let me know what you think!

