84, Charing Cross Road

Standard

I have been talking a lot about books lately but I have also had a lot of time to read so you’ll have to bear with me. This one I’m going to talk about today is quite diffrent because it is formde by the correspondance between Helene Hanff and the workers of a bookshop in London. What makes it even more special is that the letters are real.

Helene Hanff was an American writer and avid reader. She was constantly disappointed with the American bookshops so when she saw and advertisement from a British bookshop for rare books she didn’t hesitate to write them. This way began her correspondence with Frank Doel, chief buyer of Marks & Co., a bookshop located in 84, Charing Cross Road. Helene’s personality as well as the presents she sent to help them out with the rationing after the war made her known, not only to Frank but to several members of the staff.

Helene’s constant desire to shock Frnak and get him out of British stiffness make this book a really entertaining read. And the way she becomes friends with half the stuff make it a really sweet story. 84, Charing Cross is s book that can be read in a few hours but will stay with you much longer than that.

Source: Wikipedia

4 responses »

    • I saw the movie ages ago so I don’t remember much but I know I liked it. Anyway, if you have watched the movie I really recommend the book, it’s really nice.

  1. My library doesn’t have this, bahhalksdjfa. I’ll have to read get it somewhere then. Sounds lovely. It’s been recommended to me so much by my penpal, Claire.

Let me know what you think!

