Tangled

Standard

A while back a friend of mine told me that Disney’s movie Tangled was originally called Rapunzel, like the Grimm brothers tale, but they decided to change it because it was too girlie and it wouldn’t appeal to boys. They apparently came to this conclusion after the not-so-good results of The Princess and the Frog. And I just wonder, are these people so focused on marketing and strategies and all that that they are not capable of seeing the bigger picture? The Princess and the Frog was boring and a mediocre movie. Tangled, on the other hand, if fun and entertaining. I don’t think using the original title would have made much of a difference. Not that Tangled is not a good title, it just breaks with the Disney tradition.

Whatever the title, there is no doubt that Tangled is a great movie. Despite being imprisoned in a tower, Rapunzel is not the damsel in distress one would expect her to be. She is smart, strong and dying to see the outside world. Unlike the traditional tale, a prince will not come to her rescue but she will receive the visit of a scaped thief who will change her life forever and, finally, take her out to the real world.

I’m not an expert in these things, but I think the design and the graphics are amazing. The plot is slightly different from the original but for the better. Disney was able to create a more up-to-date version of the classic while making as laugh and shed a couple of tears (or may be that is just me). Flynn is a nice character and the witch is, well, evil, basically what they are expected to be. It is with Rapunzel that they were able to give this story a whole new angle and what made it so enjoyable. Tangled made me have faith in Disney again and I can’t wait to see the new one, Brave, which promises to be a great one too.

Source: Blog de cine

4 responses »

  1. I loved this movie! I thought it was so cute! And I definitely loved that she was not a damsel in distress because that is starting to get old. But this was oober cute and I watch it all the time! (And I cry too! I cry every time at the part where the big guys knock Flinn out and strap him to that boat and Rapunzel thinks that he has left her. *tear*)

Let me know what you think!

