The Parent Trap

Standard

Who has never watched The Parent Trap? It is one of my absolute Disney favorites. Actually they, because I love both versions the one from 1961 and the one from 1998. With the first one I never really understood what the big deal was since Boston and California were in the same country (enter my  European concept of country, meaning much smaller and, therefore, the same exact culture and lifestyle) and I couldn’t really grasp the differences but it was fun nonetheless. For the second one I demanded to be taken to the cinema to watch it and then I watched it a zillion times more at home. Plus they decided to use London instead of Boston which was much more familiar. What I don’t really understand is why they didn’t choose the Olsen twins. They were perfect for the part. Not that I didn’t love Lindsay Lohan, I absolutely adored her but it just seems strange.

All of this is all just to say that I find this movie really fun, even now, and it reminds me of my childhood. And I guess I could also mention that, for some weird reason I love movies and shows about twins (Sweet Valley High, Sister, sister, Winning London…). You must think I’m crazy, but can you honestly say you didn’t love this movie as kids?

11 responses »

  1. I love the story it is actually from a German Author called Erich Kaestner and it was called “Das Dopplete Lottchen” … I read it as a child and saw the German film and I am sorry somehow the American version does not live up to it 🙂

    • Really? I had no idea. I’ll have to check and see if I can find a translation of the book, it would be interesting to read the actual original version.

      • I know but that is one things the americans do well, steal stuff and make it their own 🙂 … The book Das doppelte Lottchen, was written in 1949; in English, Lottie and Lisa,

      • I hate when Hollywood does that. Thanks for the translated title, I will look for it 🙂

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the movie, but the book (“Das doppelte Lottchen”) was one of my favourite childhood books! I saw someone else already mentioned that in the comments 🙂

      • Haha, I think the book is quite a uniquely Germanic thing 😉 Something where your parents give you their 30 year old copy from their own childhood when you are a kid and go “read this” 😀

Let me know what you think!

