Sunset Park

Standard

I read this book a few months back but I didn’t write anything about it because I didn’t know what to make of it. I am still not sure I am really satisfied with it. At first the stories seem too foreign I felt  too alienated from the characters to actually care about them or feel sorry for them. The book is easy to read so soon I found myself in the middle of the book and starting to understand what the whole thing was about and the hope and happiness that seemed indeferent to me at beginning are now of extreme importance. By the end Auster had me at his mercy because I was extremely engaged in the story and reading page after page begging for a happy ending.

What I am trying to say is that it is a book I found mildly interesting but not very exciting at the beginning but managed to capture me throughout its pages and left me with a feeling of emptiness after reading the last lines. So, did I like it? I guess. It is obviously well written, all that I have read from Austen is. It is a beautiful story about characters with strange personalities that give flavor to the plot. And yet, despite all of this, I can’t help but have some reservations only because the main character gets on my nerves. He is the kind of person that I would like to shake and ask if he still has blood on his veins. So yes, I should like it, not liking a character but liking the story should yield positive opinions and yet this story and I just don’t click.

3 responses »

Let me know what you think!

