Moonrise Kingdom

Standard

On Saturday evening I spent one hour and a half watching this movie and half listening to my friend saying she is never going to let me pick a movie again. On my defense, the trailer of Moonrise Kingdom looked really sweet and she never ever chooses anything. I, however, thought the movie was ok.

It is about two children who fall in love and decide to run away from their families together. However policemen, boy scouts and social services will stand on the way of their young love. I know, it sounds cheesy but it really is not. I think the way it is presented is quite unconventional and the characters are quite original and transmit the sadness of the empty lives the two kids are trying to avoid. It’s a bit extravagant but if you keep an open mind, it’s quite nice.

I admit the children are weird and have a strange behavior but, at the same time, that is what makes the movie interesting. It was not sweet the way I thought it would be when I saw the trailer (kind of like Little Miss Sunshine) but it was cute on its own way. I think, that the only complaints I have are not about the movie itself but about the dubbing. I’m not against dubbing, per se, but children usually have terrible dubbers (try watching Harry Potter in Spanish and you will want to kill yourself). Other than that I think the movie was alright and would have been a lot more enjoyable without my friend. So, lesson learned, next time I’m going to the movies on my own, that way I will also avoid dubbing, it’s a win-win for my friend and for me.

Let me know what you think!

