Hacerse el sueco: origins

Standard

There is an expression in Spanish “hacerse el sueco” which basically translates as “to do the Swedish”. So, for example, when you are in the subway, see that old friend from school that you haven’t seen in ages and pretend not to see him to avoid an awkward conversation, then you are doing the Swedish. Or, when my mom accuses me of not visiting her even though I said I would and I answer with “what?, did I say that? I don’t remember” but I know perfectly well I did say it, then I’m doing the Swedish too. Or, when the hundreds of Swedish people I have e-mailed this week choose to ignore the e-mails in their inboxes and pretend they never saw them, then, they are doing the Swedish. Well, at least I discovered how the expression came to be.

Luckily, not all Swedish people do it and I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Still don’t know what I’m talking about? Try the video, this guy couldn’t be a better example 😉

Let me know what you think!

