Crank

Standard

The first thing the author explains in the book is that this story is based in the story of her own daughter and her addiction to meth so it already gives you an idea of what is coming and yet I did not expect to be so moved by this stiry.

The story is pretty straight-forward. Kristina, a good girl and student, gets into drugs over the summer and then her whole life becomes controlled by them. Nothing you haven’t heard before and not less devastating because of that. Written on first person and in verse it is a very intense novel that had me uneasy and in tension the whole time I was reading it. This is a novel that will really get you in the shoes of the protagonist  and strike a chord.

There are two other novels after this one, Glass and Fallout, but I still haven’t gotten around to reading them. I have to prepare myself for such an intense read, and also find them at a reasonable price.

Let me know what you think!

