Paint It Black

Standard

If you read my blog you might already know that White Oleander is my favorite book and if you don’t, well, I just told you. It was written by Janet Fitch who, according to Wikipedia, has only written two other books one of them being Paint it Black. If I remember correctly, after the Rolling Stones’ song.

Paint It Black is the story of Josie, an artist who is devastated after her boyfriend’s suicide. Fitch explores the healing process Josie undergoes after Michael dies. How she reevaluates her whole relationship with him and her life and how, slowly, she begins to accept his death.

I don’t think this book is as good as White Oleander but, she is a great writer, so it is still pretty good. I like the way she is capable of transmitting Josie’s agony and despair, how she takes you with her in her trip to rediscovering Michael’s life and how she makes you feel as perplexed as Josie. I know I say this about a lot of books but this is definitely a must read. And, while we are at it, you should also read White Oleander.

4 responses »

  1. I read Paint it Black first and LOVED it. I also loved White Oleander. They’re two of my favorite books. What other books do you like – we must have similar taste. : ) I want to read some that you recommend.

    • Wow, you are the first person I “meet” that actually knows the books. As for other books I like, there is The God of Small Things, Life of Pi, Lolita, To Kill a Mocking Bird, Anna Karenina, Blindness… Anything by García Márquez, Alice Munro has some really nice short stories. I don’t know, there are so many… I hope you find some of this interesting 🙂

      • I feel like you just said exactly what I would say to someone. I’ve read almost all of those books except The God of Small Things and I will get on that ASAP.

      • PS. Check out her blog! It has writing prompts and general writing information and direction. It’s inspiring. If you google her, it comes up first I think. : )

Let me know what you think!

